Financial Journalism
Skip Ribbon Commands
Skip to main content

Financial Journalism Financial Journalism

Contact Us

  • 021 947 2490

Email Us



45 Years of Recognising Excellence In Financial Journalism

The Sanlam Awards for Excellence in Financial Journalism recognise excellent achievement in financial reporting. Sanlam established the awards in 1974 to acknowledge the best financial journalism in South Africa. Since 2013 the scope of the awards broadened to acknowledge the best financial journalism in the rest of the African continent. The awards recognise achievement in print, radio, TV and online reporting.

Sanlam awards prizes according to the following: (1) The Category Awards, and (2) The Special Awards.

The category awards recognise the best financial journalism covering the following topics:

  • Business/Companies
  • Economy
  • Financial Markets
  • Consumer Financial Education
  • The Africa Growth Story

The Special Awards categories are:

  • Best Newcomer
  • Lifetime Achievement
  • Sanlam Financial Journalist of the Year

The judging panel selects winners at their discretion, following a rigorous evaluation process.

Category Awards

The category awards are open to journalists working in print, radio, TV, online media.
The categories are:

  • Business/companies
  • Economy
  • Financial markets
  • Consumer financial education
  • African Growth Story


Charles Naude

retired Editor (Sake24)


Maud Motanyane

Chairperson of Kagiso Media


Nixon Kariithi

CEO of Tangaza Africa Media


Paula Fray

Managing Director of frayintermedia


Ulrich Joubert

Independent Economist


Xhanti Payi

Founder of Nascence Research Insights


Ylva Rodny-Gumede

Professor at the School of Communication (UJ)

  • 1 of
Sanlam Life Insurance is a licensed financial service provider.
Copyright © Sanlam