Skip Ribbon Commands
Skip to main content

Financial Journalism Financial Journalism

Contact Us

  • 021 947 2490

Email Us



44 Years Of Celebrating Excellence In Financial Journalism

The Sanlam Awards for Excellence in Financial Journalism is awarded for excellent achievement in financial reporting. It was established by Sanlam in 1974 to recognise the best financial journalism in South Africa, and since 2013 the scope was broadened to acknowledge the best financial journalism in the rest of the African continent. The awards recognise achievement in print, radio, TV and online reporting.

Prizes are awarded in the following categories: (1) The Category Awards, and (2) The Special Awards. The category awards recognise the best financial journalism covering the following topics:

  • Business/Companies
  • Economy; Financial Markets
  • Consumer Financial Education
  • The Africa Growth Story

The Special Awards categories are:

  • Best Newcomer
  • Lifetime Achievement
  • Sanlam Financial Journalist of the Year

These winners are selected through a nomination and debate process.

Category Awards

These awards are open to journalists working in any medium (print, online, radio, TV, multimedia).
The categories are:

  • Business/companies
  • Economy
  • Financial markets
  • Consumer financial education
  • African Growth Story


Charles Naude

retired Editor (Sake24)


Caroline Southey

Editor of The Conversation Africa.


Maud Motanyane

Chairperson of Kagiso Media


Ulrich Joubert

Independent Economist


Nixon Kariithi

CEO of Tangaza Africa Media


Franz Krüger

Adjunct professor and director of the Wits Radio Academy


Ylva Rodny-Gumede

Professor at the School of Communication (UJ)


Xhanti Payi

Founder of Nascence Research Insights

  • 1 of
Sanlam Life Insurance is a licensed financial service provider.
Copyright © Sanlam